German States medals & Iron Cross

The Iron Cross was originally a Prussian War award. The German Empire consisted of 25 states: four kingdoms, six grand duchies, five duchies, seven principalities and three Hanseatic cities. In addition, the house order of the Hohenzollern principalities, although the states themselves had been annexed by Prussia. Each state awarded decorations for civil or military merit. When a sitizen of a state was awarded with the Iron Cross second class he also received a state decoration. They wore them next to the Iron Cross. Iron Cross first and next the state medal. Sometimes the  State medal first. The following is a list of the principal civil and military decorations of each state:

Anhalt: Friedrich Kreuz
Baden: Verdienstmedaille am Band des Militär Karl Friedrich Verdienstordens
Beyern: Militärverdienstkreuz 3. Klasse mit Schwerten
Braunschweig: Kriegsverdienstkreuz 2. Klasse
Bremen: Hanseaten Kreuz
Hamburg: Hanseaten Kreuz
Hessen: Tapferkeitsmedaille
Hohenzollern: Silberne Verdienstmedaille mit Schwerten
Lippe-Detmold: Kriegsverdienstkreuz
Lübeck: Hanseaten Kreuz
Mecklenburg-Schwerin: Militärverdienstkreuz 2. Klasse
Mecklenburg-Strelitz: Kreuz für Auszeichnung im Kriege “Tapfer und Treu”
Oldenburg: Friedrich August Kreuz 2. Klasse
Reuss: Silberne Verdienstmedaille mit Schwerten
Sachsen: Bronze Friedrich August Medaille
Sachsen-Weimar: Allgemeines Ehrenzeichen in Bronze mit Schwerten
Sachsen-Altenburg: Tapferkeitsmedaille
Sachsen-Coburg-Gotha: Silberne Verdienstmedaille mit Schwerten
Sachsen-Meiningen: Medaille für Verdienste im Kriege
Schaumburg Lippe: Treu Dienst Kreuz 2. Klasse
Schwarzburg: Silberne Kriegsverdienstmedaille
Waldeck: Silberne Verdienstmedaille mit Schwerten
Württemberg: Silberne Militarverdienstmedaille